When opening or creating a Project in Elucidat, you will be taken to Pages view.
In Pages, you will see an overview of your Project.
You can rename your Project simply by selecting the name and typing a new one.
Creating new pages and chapters
You can quickly add new pages to the Project by selecting the Add new Page button.
Or you can use the Import button to add pages from a different Project into your new Project.
💡 Pro Tip! You can change the name of your pages in the same way as your Project name. Simply select the name of the page and type in a new one!
Creating new chapters in your Project is just as simple. Just select Add new Page in the section below existing Chapters.
This will create an entirely new chapter in your Project. You can add as many chapters as you like.
Each edit you make in Project view is automatically saved for you so there’s no need to worry about losing your changes! You can confirm whether your most recent changes have been saved by looking for the green tick on the Save button.
Structuring your Project
Once you have some pages and chapters in your Project, you can easily re-arrange these, either one at a time or by selecting multiple pages at once.
In Pages, you can simply drag and drop my pages wherever I’d like them to be.
💡 Pro Tip! Pages can be dragged between chapters too!
The icon in the top right corner of each page offers several options:
- Edit Page
- Set/Change Page Type
- If a page type has been set for that page, Edit Page will take you into Author view. You can also double-click the page to enter Author view. If a page type hasn’t been selected, you will be prompted to select a page type first before switching to Author view.
- Set/Change Page Type will open a pop-up where you can select what type of page you’d like your page to be:
- Duplicate will create an exact copy of that page and place it next to the page it was duplicated from.
- Delete will delete that page from your Project entirely. Deleted pages cannot be recovered once deleted! If a page is the only page in a chapter, it will delete that chapter
You can find similar options in the icon in the top right corner of a chapter:
- Move Chapter will let you move the whole Chapter to a new position.
- Duplicate Chapter will duplicate that entire chapter and all pages within it.
- Delete Chapter will delete that entire chapter and all pages within it.
Select multiple pages
You can also select multiple pages at once and apply changes to them all. You can select a page by selecting this option:
When you select a page or pages, a banner will appear with options to Create a new chapter, duplicate or delete. You can also see how many pages have been selected:
- Create a new Chapter will create a brand new chapter using the selected pages.
- Duplicate will create copies of these pages and insert them into the current chapter.
- Delete will delete all selected pages.
You can also drag and drop the selected pages all at once. This is useful if you’d like to move multiple pages to a different chapter or a different section of the Project.
Grid and List
In Pages, you can switch between two different views: Grid and List.
Grid view shows your pages in a grid with thumbnail images of each page. This is useful if you need to find a specific page and can’t remember where it is in the Project.
Hovering over a Page thumbnail in Grid view will scroll the thumbnail view downwards, allowing you to preview the entirety of the page.
List view shows your pages in a more compact, linear way.
All of the same options and functions are available in Grid view as List view so you can always work in the same way regardless of which view you prefer!