With Advanced User Management, it is possible to create more specific user roles and manage a user’s permissions in a more detailed way.

By default, the following user roles will be available to use right away.

  • Administrator

  • Analytics

  • Author and Analytics

  • Developer

  • Layout Designer

  • Layout Designer and Analytics

  • Restricted Layout Designer

  • Reviewer

Each role has its own combination of permissions, all of which (except the Administrator role) can be fine tuned to suit your needs!

Clicking User Roles will bring you to the user roles overview page -

You can get a quick impression of what permissions your user roles have by taking a look at the table -

You can change how the roles are listed in the overview by clicking each category in the overview table -

Permissions are sorted into six categories:

  • Brand

  • Project

  • Localisation

  • Releases

  • Team

  • Account

Using the key below, you can see whether a user has full, partial or no permissions for each category -

Click a user role to edit their permissions. You can also create a new role by clicking the Add user role button -

To edit the user role permissions, you simply tick or untick the boxes next to each action -

You can enable and disable entire categories by clicking the checkbox next to the category name -

Click See more to reveal a short description about what each action entails and See Less to close the description -

To rename your user role, type here -

And save your changes using the Save button -

If you wish to delete the user role, you can do so with the the Delete button shown below -

If there are users already assigned to this user role, you can choose to re-assign those users to a different role before the current role is deleted

You can also quickly see how many users are currently assigned to that particular role here -

Clicking this will take you to the Users tab with all of the users assigned to this role filtered

Restricting Release Permissions

It is possible to restrict the type of release a user can create. The two permissions are:

  • ‘Create SCORM or API releases’ which restricts the user to creating SCORM for LMS, Backup SCORM and API releases

  • and ‘Create an Online Link release’ which restricts the user to creating only Online Link releases

You can find these permissions under the 'Releases' section in the User Role configuration

If a user's permissions have been restricted to creating a certain type of release, they will see the that option that has been disabled will be inactive and they will not be able to create a release of that type.

Did this answer your question?